The Spectrum Institute of Science and Technology (SIST) established in the year 2001 is an institute formed with the intention of developing a human capital adorned with the knowledge of life sciences.

SIST believes in providing students with a total education package and gives great importance towards providing extra-curricular and co-curricular activities. SIST was always sensitive towards Community Service and Climate change and from time to time students engaged in projects which were able to bring positive change within the community as a whole.

With the aim of continuing these student based activities further in 2015, The Spectrum Students’ Society was formed under the patronage of the Chairman of SIST, Mr. Jayanthan Kulasigham.
The mission of the Organization is to create potential undergraduates and to inculcate the values of unity and fellowship through different avenues of interest which would showcase their talents and personality skills while serving the community.

Thus the Spectrum Students’ Society comprises of four main avenues namely, Community service, Environmental Service, Performing Arts and Sports. Spectrum Students’ Society is also involved in developing professional skills of students through the quarterly magazine – “The Spectrum” and through the professional development workshops conducted by eminent personalities.

The Spectrum Society bears social responsibility in mind and thus the avenues of Community service and Environmental Service is operating purely as a volunteer service group while the avenues of Performing Arts and Sports serve in building self confidence in the undergraduates while enhancing their individual skills and talents.


The Charter Board of Spectrum Students’ Society (2015/2016);

Patron                                       Jayanthan Kulasingham
President                                  Suvini Karunaratne
General Secretary                   Nafrisha Cassim
Treasurer                                  Lavanya Karthigeson
Vice Presidents
Community Service                Nethmi Perera
Environmental Service           Keerthika Vivekananthan
Performing Arts                      Achini Shehara
Sports                                       Mizwer Rameez

Editor                                        Aaysha Jaufer